The Count of Monte Cristo: I Lied

I finished chapter ten a day earlier than I said I would, and I can’t wait to keep reading.

I thought about writing these entries like I knew what I was talking about. I thought about analyzing the book like I’m back in my english classroom.

That isn’t how I want to do this.

So, a teenage girl’s perspective on reading The Count of Monte Cristo for the first time.

Holy. Mother. of God. This book is awesome. Annotating it while I read was a great idea, because it keeps me reading like every sentence is new. I don’t get distracted as easily, and I need that for a book this twisted.

First, Danglars is an asshole. He would rather flee than face Dantes after having him sent to prison. And Villefort is such a slimy little bastard I want to punch him in the face. And I don’t understand at all what the tailor had to gain from Dantes being sent to prison, other than he didn’t like him.

I’m all for whatever revenge Dantes decides to break out. It should be a fascinating read.

That’s all I’ve got for now, see you guys after I finish chapter twenty.

Leave a Reply

